Background image

Prof. PhD arch. Yesim Kamile Aktuglu

Prof. Aktuglu is graduated Izmir Bornova Anadolu Lisesi in 1981 in between of top 7. She entered to the architectural department in 1981 as the first person with the highest entrance exam grade, and graduated from the same department in 1985 as the first person with the highest graduate grade. Immediately by passing the exam for being a research assistant at the same department in the structure-construction branch, she started working in 1985. She has completed her master degree education in 1989 and her PhD degree education in 1995 at the same department in the same branch. Her master thesis and doctorate thesis are about steel architecture. Elected as Assoc. Prof. in 2003 and Full Professor in 2010.

She got 1 time DAAD scholarship for doing researches about steel architecture in BTU Cottbus, Germany for 2 months, 3 times British Council Scholarship for doing researches about steel architecture in Bartlet School of Architecture, UK for 6 weeks, 3 times Italian Embassy Foreign Affairs Scholarship in IUAV, Trento University, Naples University Federico II for doing researches about steel architecture in Italy.

Prof. Aktuglu has an Erasmus Bilateral Agreement with Prof. Dr. Еng. Carlo Castiglioni from Politecnico di Milano since 2006. She give lectures about steel architecture in the world in January of each year.

She have awards from architectural competitions, several papers, presented in the conferences and printed in the proceedings, lectures about steel architecture as elective courses in undergraduate level, master level and doctorate level.

She also gives lessons about structures and construction with every kind structural material, with her other colleagues in the first 6 semesters in the curriculum. She joined COST Action C25, sustainability of constructions, in 2006-2011, as Turkish Representer, in the Management Committee.

For a long time, she is a member of the Management Committee of Faculty and also a member of Faculty Management Committee. She is the chair of the department, since February 2014. She is selected senator of her faculty since February 2014 at the present time.